Startseite // FDEF // Aktuelles // PhD candidate wins BILETA postgraduate paper award

PhD candidate wins BILETA postgraduate paper award

twitter linkedin facebook google+ email this page
Veröffentlicht am Freitag, den 12. Mai 2017

Carsten Ullrich, a PhD candidate with the Doctoral Training Unit on Enforcement in Multi-Level Regulatory Systems (DTU REMS) has won the 2017 British and Irish Law, Education and Technology Association (BILETA) academic paper award.

He was presented the award at the association’s annual conference, held this year at the University of Mingo in Braga, Portugal, from 20 to 21 April.

The conference is held since 1986 and includes a call for unpublished papers focusing on regulatory topics in the area of technology and the law. Carsten Ullrich submitted his paper “Standards for duty of care? Debating intermediary liability from a sectoral perspective” in which he reviewed EU regulatory developments for different types of infringing content on online platforms. He also explored a new platform liability regime based on co-regulatory technical standards.

Casten joined the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance in December 2016 as a DTU REMS PhD candidate under the supervision of Prof. Mark Cole. His thesis topic focuses on the regulatory environment of the content liability of online platforms.

Postgraduates from across Europe entered the competition writing on topics as diverse as society, business and data protection, intellectual property rights in the information society, private international law solutions for the emerging challenges in law and technology, e-commerce, public policies and governance in ICT law, and the legal and ethical challenges of smart cities.

A second postgraduate paper prize was awarded to Mark Leiser from the University of Strathclyde, UK, for his paper “Regulating Fake News”.

In addition to submitting the written paper, all candidates had to present their topic to a panel during the annual conference. A jury consisting of seven members of the BILETA Executive Committee selected the winners based on the written submission.