Institute of Political Science

The Institute of Political Science forms part of the Department of Social Sciences. It provides a methodologically pluralist and distinctively multilingual environment in which to pursue research into politics and governance. 

The Institute has internationally recognised research strengths in the areas of:

  • European Union economic governance
  • Political economy (notably finance)
  • Human rights
  • Post-conflict politics
  • Institutions and policies of the European Union
  • Europeanization
  • Multi-level governance and federalism
  • Parliamentarism and legislative studies
  • Voters and elections
  • Lobbying and interest representation in the EU

Robert Schuman Institute of European Affairs (RSI)

The Institute's members are part of the University of Luxembourg's interdisciplinary Robert Schuman Initiative which is recognised as a Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence and funded by the EU Commission for the 2016-2021 period. Many of the EU-focused activities of the Institute of Political Science are organised through the RSI.

Doctoral Studies in Political Science

Applications are welcomed from candidates wishing to pursue doctoral studies in specified research areas. Further details are available on our doctoral studies in the Institute of Political Science page.

Taught Programmes

Political Science courses currently form part of the curriculum of:

The  Institute joined the European Consortium for Political Research and the University Association of Contemporary European Studies (UACES). 


Institute  of Political Science
University of Luxembourg

Campus Belval
Maison des Sciences Humaines
11, Porte des Sciences
L-4366 Esch-sur-Alzette