Department of Engineering

The Department of Engineering (DoE) at the University of Luxembourg is an interdisciplinary group active in the classical domains of civil, electrical and mechanical engineering and geophysics. The main focus of research is on the development of technological solutions, the sustainable and economical use of all kind of resources, the offer of competences for the technological requirements of Luxembourg and the Greater Region industrial and public actors. Special emphasis is given to numerical simulation to reduce the required experimental effort, but the validation of the models will remain an essential asset. All the research projects combine an applied and a fundamental scope and are supported by a network of national, regional and international public and industrial research institutions.


Stephan Leyer

DoE at a glance


  • 20 professors and lecturers
  • 29 post-docs and 70 doctoral candidates
  • 16 technical and administrative staff


  • 205 peer-reviewed articles in scientific journals (2020)

Campus: Kirchberg, 6, rue Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi
L-1359 Luxembourg


Research areas