The Department of Geography and Spatial Planning is hosting the following networks and national contact/focal points.

Luxembourg European Migration Network National Contact Point (LU EMN NCP)


The European Migration Network (EMN) was established by Council Decision 2008/381/EC with the objective to:

  • meet the information needs of Union institutions and of Member States’ authorities and institutions
  • provide up-to-date, objective, reliable and comparable information on migration and asylum
  • support policymaking in the European Union in these areas
  • provide the general public with such information

The LU EMN NCP is composed of an interdisciplinary team of experts from:

The LU EMN NCP is coordinated by Prof. Birte Nienaber of the University of Luxembourg.
Contact:      Website:

FRANET National Focal Point






The Department is hosting the FRANET National Focal Point in Luxembourg for the European Union Agency of Fundamental Rights (FRA) since 2018.
The Agency is an independent centre of reference and excellence for promoting and protecting human
rights in the EU.

FRANET is the Agency’s multidisciplinary research network. It is composed of contractors in each EU Member State, the UK and in countries which have Observer status. Upon request, the contractors provide reports and relevant data on fundamental rights issues to FRA in order to facilitate the Agency’s comparative analyses. The FRANET National Focal Point in Luxembourg will foster networking activities and provide contracted reports and data to FRA over the next years.

Coordination: Prof. Birte Nienaber, Team members: Mariana Muzzi and Dr. Volha Vysotskaya
More information about FRANET in Luxembourg:

UniGR-Center for Border Studies (UniGR-CBS)






The UniGR-Center for Border Studies is a thematic cross-border network of border scholars from the six member universities of the University of the Greater Region – UniGR. The network, launched in December 2014 on the initiative of the researchers, considers itself as a multidisciplinary platform for border scholars within the Greater Region. Combining the projects of the participating universities, the network supports border research, and ensures greater international visibility.

Network partners

  • University of Luxembourg
  • Technische Universität Kaiserslautern
  • University of Liège
  • University of Lorraine
  • Saarland University
  • Trier University
  • University of the Greater Region (UniGR a.s.b.l.)

Coordination unit of the UniGR-CBS hosted by the University of Luxembourg: Dr. Christian Wille
Team members: Denise Rodrigues Marafona, Ulla Connor, Nicole Holzapfel-Mantin

Website          Twitter       Contact