Startseite // SnT // Research // SIGCOM // News // International Recognition for Work in Wireless Communications

International Recognition for Work in Wireless Communications

twitter linkedin facebook email this page
Veröffentlicht am Donnerstag, den 20. September 2018

Professor Björn Ottersten, Director of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust, is the 2018 recipient of the prestigious European Association for Signal Processing (EURASIP) Group Technical Achievement Award.

The award recognizes Prof. Ottersten’s scientific leadership in building research groups, most recently as head of SnT’s Signal Processing and Communications Research Group (SIGCOM) at SnT. The research team at SnT was launched in 2009, and quickly gained a global reputation for its work in wireless communications, radar and computer vision both with industry partners and through national and European grants.

“We’ve assembled a team of highly skilled and motivated scientists from all over the world”, said Ottersten, commenting on the group’s success. “Public funding allows us to focus on fundamental topics, while we validate and tailor the concepts in demand driven projects with our partners, SES, IEE and Artec 3D”.

The award was presented at EURASIP’s flagship event, the European Signal Processing Conference (EUSIPCO 2018) in Rome on 4 September 2018, with the Board of Directors praising Ottersten’s “efficient leadership at multiple levels and fundamental contributions in sensor array processing and signal processing for communications.”

L-R: Prof. Abdelhak Zoubir (President, EURASIP), Prof. Björn Ottersten and Prof. Kostas Berberidis (EURASIP Awards Director)

The European Association for Signal Processing (EURASIP) was founded in 1978 to "improve communication between groups and individuals that work within the multidisciplinary, fast growing field of Signal Processing in Europe and elsewhere, and to exchange and disseminate information in the field all over the world."