FAQ – frequently asked questions

I would like to enrol in doctoral studies at the University of Luxembourg. What do I do?

First of all you have to identify your supervisor and topic. You should also consider different sources of financing. Then you can start the application procedure.

Please also go to this page for more information.

Is there a maximum duration of doctoral studies?

Yes: the University law indicates a maximum of four years (48 months) of (full time) doctoral studies. At the end of month 48, the thesis has to be submitted. The law allows four additional months, after thesis submission, to prepare for the defence.

How is supervision of my thesis organised?

The University law and the Study regulations give clear instructions about the supervision of a thesis. For each doctoral candidate and thesis, a thesis supervision committee (CET: comité d’encadrement de thèse) is nominated by the Rector.

Law article 37(5): The CET has 3 members (4 in case of a co-tutelle), all of which have a "Dr" title. The mission of the CET is to meet at least once a year with the doctoral candidate in order to ensure progress and evaluate the work of the doctoral candidate.

Study regulations, article 50:

  • One CET member is the thesis supervisor
    • At least one CET member has a work contract with the UL, covering the entire period of the thesis duration, or is a professeur affilié.
    • Max. one member without ADR; this member must not have any hierarchical link with the other CET members.
    • In case of a joint supervision (cotutelle), the CET is composed of 4 members (balanced representation of both institutions)

What is “ADR”?

ADR means “autorisation à diriger des recherches”. According to the University’s internal rules (règlement d’ordre intérieur, ROI), ADR is the right to supervise doctoral candidates at the University of Luxembourg. Any supervisor needs to have been granted this right before accepting a doctoral candidate. It is possible to be member of a “CET” (comité d’encadrement de thèse) without ADR. For more information, please refer to this website.

The law stipulates that each doctoral candidate has to be registered in a doctoral programme. What is this, and how can I do this?

There are four Doctoral Schools at the University of Luxembourg: Science and Engineering (DSSE), Humanities and Social Sciences (DSHSS), Economics and Finance (DSEF) and Law (DSL). Each Doctoral School has at least one Doctoral programme (see table below).

During the application process, the supervisor and the doctoral candidate decide in which of these doctoral programmes the doctoral candidate will be registered. This request is validated by the Doctoral programme coordinator during the registration process, and before the admission letter is sent out. This process is coordinated by the Office of doctoral studies.

I want to get involved in other activities with doctoral candidates. What can I do?

There is an organisation called « LuxDoc », open to all doctoral candidates in Luxembourg. They are organising activities and also represent doctoral candidates in working groups (e.g. a the Ministry of Higher Education). This is the website where you can find more information: luxdoc.uni.lu