LL.M. Programmes

LL.M. Programmes

The University of Luxembourg offers seven outstanding LL.M. specialisations

Contentieux de l’UE
European Economic and Financial Criminal Law Droit
Bancaire et
Tax Law
Media Law
Investment Funds Law

Why study for an LL.M. at the University of Luxembourg?

  • All LL.M. programmes are oriented towards European law, with a common first year and a highly specialised second year. Enter into the first year (M1) to start your LL.M. studies at the University of Luxembourg or enter directly into the second year (M2) to complete your LL.M. degree. 
  • The University of Luxembourg offers a unique multilingual and multicultural approach, reflected in the international student body and faculty.
  • All LL.M. programmes are taught in French and English, with opportunities for students to acquire professional language skills and a competitive advantage in a globalised working environment.
  • Luxembourg is the seat of major European Union institutions, such as the Court of Justice of the European Union and the European Investment Bank, as well as a leading financial centre in Europe.
  • Small class sizes ensure practical and personalised teaching by distinguished academic staff of the Research Unit in Law, supported by judges, legal practitioners and other professionals from the field.
  • LL.M. students can take part in international moot court competitions to gain practical experience and recognition. Clinical teaching is integrated into some of the programmes.
  • Students have the possibility to study a semester abroad at one of our partner schools, for example in the US, Canada, Russia, Brazil, China and India.
  • Numerous internship opportunities are offered through our programmes, as well as excellent career paths in Luxembourg.
  • Programmes are modularised, allowing incoming exchange students to shape their learning agreement by combining select courses from different Master programmes.


Structure of studies

Enter into the first year (M1):

All LL.M. programmes share a common first year. Applicants who have successfully completed three years of studies amounting to 180 ECTS (typically a Bachelor in Law or equivalent studies) are eligible to apply for the common first year.

The programme of the first year (semesters one and two) offers a solid common basis in European and international law. Among the courses offered in semester one, seven courses correspond to the second year LL.M. specialisations. Students are required to choose their second year specialisation at the end of semester one. The choice between the optional seminars of semester two will be guided by the study directors of the second year. In order to be admitted to the second year students need to have completed the first year (M1 / 60 ECTS).

Enter into the second year (M2):

Students can enter directly into the second year of an LL.M. programme (M2) with the goal of obtaining an LL.M. degree. This requires the successful completion of four years of studies amounting to 240 ECTS, typically by having obtained a Master degree in law or equivalent studies including courses on European law. Students will be admitted upon decision of an admissions committee.